The Continuing Saga Of The Almost Free Shoes

Posted: May 15, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

If you are a regular reader you know that my aged Tevas won me a 100 dollar gift certificate at Rainsong Shoes in their Ugly-Ass Shoes Contest on 95.9 AM, The KRUSH. I’m no newbie to the contest game. I know things are not always as they seem and that you are never as big a winner as you think you are, so I did a little research before taking off on a 25 mile ride to Montgomery Village’s Rainsong Shoes.

First I googled Rainsong, saw a couple of unfavorable results on Yelp, and proceeded even more cautiously. I went on to Rainsong’s website to see if there were indeed any mens’ shoes available for me to choose from and at a price I could afford. I found a pair of leather faux tennies that appealed to me and called the Montgomery Village store to see if they had them in stock. That store had no mens’ shoes but they referred me to their Healdsburg shop. Things were looking up. I much preferred a trip to quaint and comfortable Healdsburg as opposed to driving to the Eastern edge of unquaint and uncomfortable Santa Rosa. After calling the Healdsburg branch and finding out that my choice pair was available in my size and color preference Gail and I (and Aldo) jumped in the Ford Ranger and set our sights for KRSH offices to pick up the gift certificate and then on to Healdsburg.

Thus far my phone conversations with Rainsong staffers had shown nary a hint of the negative “attitude” witnessed by the Yelp reviewers. Aa I expected, things went smoothly at KRSH, I picked up the certificate from a nice young woman at the front desk and it was off to Healdsburg.

Entering the KRSH office.

Entering the KRSH office.

Collecting my winning gift certificate. So far so good.

Collecting my winning gift certificate. So far so good.

Traffic was mild and in 20 minutes or less we were pulling into a shady parking place on the Healdsburg Town Square and just across the street from Rainsong Shoes. All my concerns melted away as the employee I’d talked to on the phone had put the shoes I had chosen aside for me and all I had to do was show my certificate, try on the shoes (they were comfortable), cough up a few more bucks, and before long we were out the door and on a short walkabout through this friendly little town.

Does this look like a rude salesperson dripping with negative attitude? I don't think so.  I really couldn't have bought these shoes without a gift certificate as their prices are a bit steep for me, but they have a wonderful selection of cool shoes and a nice shopping environment. If you are a shoe person like my wife you would probably find something you couldn't live without.

Does this look like a rude salesperson dripping with negative attitude? I don’t think so. I really couldn’t have bought these shoes without a gift certificate as their prices are a bit steep for me, but they have a wonderful selection of cool shoes and a nice shopping environment. If you are a shoe person like my wife you would probably find something you couldn’t live without.


Video 243 0 00 01-18

Safeathome
Here I am safe at home in the Mobile Mansion ensconced in the Media Command Center Chair admiring my new kicks. Whaddya think?
But hey, there’s more. A gala event is coming to Healdsburg. See my next blog entry.

Comments
  1. Susan (Amiga número tres) says:

    Snazzy!

  2. Nice ankles. I recommend ointment.
    Oh yeah, very cool shoes.

  3. Jack Bertram says:

    Ehh, I like the old ones better. Nah, just kidding. They look great!

  4. Bob bell says:

    Mike – good for the shoes. Gave my sister your website and she might thy to contact yopu. (Linda) Bob Bell

Leave a Reply

