I don’t do ads unless I get paid, but I certainly do like talking about great food and letting people know where to get it. I do have reservations (no pun intended) about sharing the news concerning Alma’s and Many’s Restaurant. After all if you all start going there I may have trouble getting a table when I want to eat the finest tamales ever created or anything else that Alma’s talented hands bring to deliciosity from their extensive menu. But lucky for you I’m feeling generous today, and besides most of you reading this are too far away to hop on a plane to get here. So let me walk you through this. Just get to Todos Santos, BCS, Mexico, find a street named Militar, drive up the hill till you see a fish market on your left, look to your right and turn right at the next intersection, on the left side of the road you will see signage like this:

Just a few more steps now.

Just a few more steps now.


You're almost there.

You’re almost there.


Slow down! You're going right by it.

Slow down! You’re going right by it.


Now you're inside.

Now you’re inside.


Look around. There are beautiful murals on all the walls. They are done by a local painter who also has some of his work on canvas in the restaurant for sale. The prices for menu items and for paintings are very low. We got a still life of assorted fruit with four enchiladas, chicken flautas, two lemonades, all for 390 pesos ($29.75USD).

Look around. There are beautiful murals on all the walls. They are done by a local painter who also has some of his work on canvas in the restaurant for sale. The prices for menu items and for paintings are very low. We got a still life of assorted fruit with four enchiladas, chicken flautas, two lemonades, all for 390 pesos ($29.75USD).


I have written of her before, she needs no introduction, so without further ado, here she is, the legendary Reina de Tamales, Alma herself.

I have written of her before, she needs no introduction, so without further ado, here she is, the legendary Reina de Tamales, Alma herself.


This is the painting which hangs slightly askew on our living room wall. I have never been able to afford art before, except my own of course. I love this place.

This is the painting which hangs slightly askew on our living room wall. I have never been able to afford art before, except my own of course. I love this place.


And, oh by the way, Many is a really nice guy who speaks fluent gringo and married well.

Comments
  1. Sheila says:

    love your photos of Alma and Many’s. We loved that place too. Really yummy and authentic. Why don’t you review it on tripadvisor.com? I plan to. Could I use one of your photos for my review (if it’s copy-able)? There appears to be one review, but calls the place Alma’s enchiladas. They seem to promote their tamales, but would you say “official” name is Alma and Many’s?

    • mongrel4u says:

      You certainly may use any of my photos of Alma and Many’s to help them get more business. They certainly deserve it, excellent food, inexpensive, generous portions, nice people, beautiful murals. What more could you ask for? The official name of the place is on the signage in my photos I think. My wife is also writing a trip advisor review.
      As to copying photos, try (if you have a PC) left clicking to open a photo, then right click and chose “save as” to your desk top, then you should be able to place it on your review. I even have photos from when Alma had a roadside cart last year. She was only cooking tamales then. I’m a big fan.

Leave a Reply

