Mi salud está en buenas manos en Todos Santos (My health is in good hands in Todos Santos)

Posted: November 7, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

On the night of that horrible drubbing the Kansas City Royals put on the San Francisco Giants in the World Series a week or so back,  we returned to the casa to find that there had been a power outage and all the outdoor lights we had left on were off. In a foul mood I charged up the hill with Aldo in my arms (to keep him safe, hah). Thinking I had reached a clear area I was moving decisively (hah, again) toward the front door and a light switch. Before I could get there I struck a low-lying pile of posts and rebar bristling with sharp and rusty metal protrusions. I released Aldo on the way down and he skittered off into the night terrified by my stentorian bellows of pain and profanity. I hit the ground hard and got up slowly taking parts inventory and realizing that I was indeed in a lot of pain and probably bleeding. Gail wanted to take pictures for facebook but we opted for first aid. When I managed to get some light on the carnage it was not pretty. We had two first aid kits and hoped that the bandages and ointment we used would be up to repairing the damage. But this was not to be the case.

After a few days of this rinky dink treatment and some improvement the wounds took a turn for the worst and appeared to be headed for serious infection. That is when I went to Saint Luke’s Medical Center. I had been there a few years ago when our friend, Cara, broke her kneecap after a fall down the stairs at Hotel California. I saw then what excellent caring treatment she received there. So I was not surprised to receive similar quality treatment from well-trained professionals like Dr. Luisa (don’t know her last name). I sometimes feel apprehensive about visits to medical facilities but at Saint Luke’s you feel comfortable and in good hands right away. I have since gone to the clinic for several follow up visits and every time I have come away feeling satisfied and with improving health. Thank you Doctor Luisa, and Cruz, an old friend formerly of Tecolote Book Store, who is now in charge of front desk duties, for making my visits to St. Luke’s so special.

I got a one year membership to St. Luke's for 150 pesos ($11.09USD). This entitles me to free ambulance service, free injections, discounts on other services and more. I'd say that's a good deal.

I got a one year membership to St. Luke’s for 150 pesos ($11.09USD). This entitles me to free ambulance service, free injections, discounts on other services and more. I’d say that’s a good deal.

First you are greeted to the beautiful smiling face of Senora Luz at the front desk.

First you are greeted to the beautiful smiling face of Senora Cruz at the front desk.

My Doctor and Me

My Doctor and Me

jesus

Leave a Reply

